Press Release, Bonn, 14 July 2016

The Federal President has appointed Prof. Dr. Jürgen Kühling, LL.M. as member of the Monopolies Commission for a term from 1 July 2016 to 30 June 2020. Dagmar Kollmann and Dr. Angelika Westerwelle, both entrepreneurs and supervisory board members, were appointed for another term. Dagmar Kollmann has been a Member of the Monopolies Commission since 1 January 2012, and Dr. Angelika Westerwelle since 1 July 2008.

The new Commissioner Jürgen Kühling has held the chair for public law, real property law, infrastructure law, and information law at the faculty of law at the University of Regensburg. He studied law at the universities of Trier and Nancy II and completed his master studies (LL.M.) at Brussels. He was awarded his doctoral decree (Dr. jur.) at the University of Bonn in 1998 and obtained his postdoctoral lecture qualification at the end of 2002. In 2003, he obtained the teaching licence for public law, including comparative law, European law, and German and European commercial law, in particular telecommunications law. Following interim teaching mandates in Hamburg and Karlsruhe, he worked as professor for public law, in particular media and telecommunications law as well as data protection law, at the Center for Applied Legal Studies (Zentrum für angewandte Rechtswissenschaft – ZAR) at the University of Karlsruhe.

Jürgen Kühling's focus of research lies, among others, in the regulation of network industries, information law, and European State aid law. He is a member of the Scientific Working Committee for Regulatory Issues (Wissenschaftlicher Arbeitskreis für Regulierungsfragen – WAR) at the Federal Network Agency.

As a Member of the Monopolies Commission, Jürgen Kühling follows Prof. Dr. Daniel Zimmer, LL.M., who resigned from the Monopolies Commission in March 2016.

The following documents are now available for download: